Blue Bridge Foundation

La Ruelle Potagère


Rachel Vallée Troie

Receptionnist Montreal’s office

rachel.valleetroie@bluebridge.caOnce again, the Blue Bridge Foundation for Children is proud to sponsor La Ruelle Potagère this year. La Ruelle Potagère is a summer camp promoting entrepreneurship and urban agriculture among primary and secondary school youth. Thanks to the Foundation’s support, La Ruelle Potagère was able to afford new material to improve its garden. A sprinkler system was set up, which increased the garden harvest and reduced manual watering time. In trying to increase production and product quality, a greater variety of plants, herbs and vegetables were also bought.

In fact, a few Blue Bridge employees got their hands dirty at the beginning of the summer to help plant, water and revive the garden for the summer season.

In the science workshops, better quality products and materials were bought (vegetable oil, essential oils, shea butter) to make soaps and bath bombs. These products and the garden’s harvest were then sold by youth participants at the Atwater and Frontenac Metro markets.

The garden is mainly for La Ruelle Potagère participants, but is also cultivated by families who come to two different camps in August, where some of the La Ruelle Potagère activities are repeated.

A total of 123 people were able to enjoy it (97 children/teens and 26 adults).

Furthermore, thanks to a donation from Denis Office Supplies, we were able to add school supplies to the backpacks that were handed out. A total of 60 backpacks featuring the Blue Bridge Foundation colours were distributed. Each of the bags contained a USB key, ruler, scientific calculator, notebooks, pencils and pencil cases as well as a set of headphones. The backpacks were given to all the La Ruelle Potagère youth participants at the start of camp and were randomly drawn for the family camp youth. All were very happy with the bags’ contents, the bags themselves and their colour.

 

...

By Blue Bridge,

16/10/2017

Articles that might interest you

...

Blue Bridge Foundation

27/04/2022

War in Ukraine : how can we help ?

...

Investments

27/04/2022

Accelerated energy transition in wartime

...

Perspective

27/04/2022

International relations and the stock markets

...

Investments

24/01/2022

UN Climate Change Conference (COP26)

...

Investments

24/01/2022

A bit of “déjà vu”

...

Perspective

24/01/2022

Outlook 2022 – Forging Ahead…

La Ruelle Potagère

La Ruelle Potagère

Rachel Vallée Troie

Réceptionniste bureau de Montréal

rachel.valleetroie@bluebridge.ca

Cette année encore, la Fondation Blue Bridge pour l’enfance était fière de parrainer La ruelle potagère. Il s’agit d’un camp estival qui encourage l’entrepreneuriat ainsi que l’agriculture urbaine chez les jeunes du primaire et du secondaire. Grâce au soutien de la Fondation, La ruelle potagère a pu faire l’achat de nouveau matériel afin d’optimiser le potager. Un système d’arrosage automatique a été installé, ce qui a permis d’avoir une meilleure production et de réduire le temps d’arrosage manuel. Toujours dans l’optique d’optimiser la production et d’avoir de meilleurs produits, une plus grande variété de plantes, d’herbes et de légumes a été achetée.

D’ailleurs, quelques employés de Blue Bridge ont mis la main à la terre en début d’été pour aider à planter, arroser et faire renaître le potager pour la saison estivale.

Dans les ateliers de sciences, des produits et du matériel de meilleure qualité ont été achetés (huile végétale, huiles essentielles, beurre de karité) afin de fabriquer des savons et des bombes effervescentes pour le bain. Par la suite, ces produits ainsi que les récoltes du potager ont été vendus par les jeunes au marché Atwater et à celui du métro Frontenac.

Le potager est principalement destiné aux participants de La ruelle potagère, mais il est également cultivé par les familles qui prennent part à deux camps différents au mois d’août, où certaines des activités de la ruelle potagère sont reprises.

Au total, ce sont 123 personnes qui ont pu en profiter, soit 97 enfants et ados, et 26 adultes!

De plus, grâce à un don de la part de Fournitures de bureau Denis, il nous a été possible d’ajouter du matériel scolaire aux sacs à dos qui ont été offerts. Au total, 60 sacs à dos aux couleurs de la Fondation Blue Bridge ont été donnés. Chacun des sacs contenait une clé USB, une règle, une calculatrice scientifique, des cahiers, des crayons et étuis, ainsi qu’une paire d’écouteurs. Les sacs à dos ont été distribués à tous les jeunes de La ruelle potagère au début des camps et aussi en tirage au sort aux jeunes des camps familiaux. Tous étaient très contents du contenu et ont apprécié les sacs ainsi que leur couleur!